Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart

Representing the 25th District of FLORIDA

Diaz-Balart, Hastings Reintroduce Everglades Caucus: Stress Importance of Restoration and Preservation Efforts

Mar 10, 2009
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC-Today Congressmen Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL) and Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL) reintroduced the Congressional Everglades Caucus.  Founded in 2006, Diaz-Balart and Hastings are Co-Chairs of the Caucus and leaders in Congress for Everglades restoration and preservation.  

“The Florida Everglades are one of the true ecological wonders of the world, but their existence is in jeopardy due to decades of abuse,” said Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart.  “As the sole Member of Congress representing Everglades National Park and co-chair of the Everglades Caucus, creating awareness and ensuring federal funding for restoration and conservation efforts remain a top priority of mine.  I join Congressman Hastings in thanking our colleagues in the House who remain supportive of our efforts to restore and preserve the Everglades, so that future generations can enjoy it.”

“As co-founder of the House Everglades Caucus, I have always been a lead proponent in rebuilding the everglades and safeguarding its natural resources,” said Congressman Alcee L. Hastings.   “America’s Everglades is the largest sub-tropical wilderness under major distress.  Restoring this exclusive ecosystem requires national recognition and fiscal commitment.  I am hopeful of not only reclaiming the natural flow and abundance of the everglades ecosystem, but also boosting economic growth in the upcoming years.   I look forward to working with my colleagues on both sides of the isle in raising awareness in Congress about the importance of the everglades in an effort to ensure that it is preserved and protected.”

The Everglades Caucus is a bipartisan group whose mission is to promote legislation that provides long-term funding for Everglades related projects that ensure restoration and preservation of this unique ecosystem. 

The following is a list of members of the Everglades Caucus to date: Congressmen Thomas J. Rooney, Adam H. Putnam, Robert Wexler, Ron Klein, Cliff Stearns, C.W. Bill Young, Connie Mack, Lincoln Diaz-Balart, Vern Buchanan, Debbie Wasserman Schultz and Allen Boyd.