Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart

Representing the 25th District of FLORIDA

House Unanimously Passes Hastings, Diaz-Balart Everglades Resolution: Bill Commemorates 60th Anniversary of Everglades National Park

Mar 4, 2008
Press Release

Washington, DC – The United States House of Representatives unanimously passed H.Res.845, a resolution today honoring the 60th anniversary of Everglades National Park, introduced by U.S. Representative Alcee L. Hastings (D-Miramar) and Mario Diaz- Balart (R-Miami, Collier).  Representatives Hastings and Diaz-Balart are the bipartisan co-Chairs of the House Everglades Caucus.

“Today Congress recognizes the anniversary of the Everglades National Park and rededicates itself to restoration efforts of this pristine ecosystem.  As we pause to celebrate this significant anniversary, we must intensify our efforts to restore and conserve the River of Grass for all future generations of Americans to enjoy,” said Representative Hastings.  “As Co-Chair of the Everglades Caucus, I will continue to lead bipartisan efforts in Congress to support the Everglades and get the necessary funds for critical authorized projects.  I appreciate Representative Diaz-Balart’s support of the Everglades and his commitment to working together to preserve and restore this magnificent ecosystem.”

“Today Congress has demonstrated its commitment to the preservation and restoration of Everglades National Park.  As the sole Member of Congress representing Everglades National Park and as co-chair of the Everglades Caucus, creating awareness and ensuring conservation of this national treasure have always been a priority of mine,” said Representative Diaz-Balart.  “I join Representative Hastings in thanking our colleagues in the House for supporting this important bipartisan effort and recognizing the importance of the Florida Everglades.”

In 2000, the Federal government and the State of Florida embarked on the Comprehensive Everglades Restoration Plan (CERP), the largest environmental restoration effort in history to repair and revive the ecosystem.  In November 2007, Congress overrode a President Bush veto and passed the Water Resource Development Act (WRDA) of 2007, authorizing $1.8 billion in Everglades restoration funding and reaffirming Congressional support for Everglades Restoration.

Original bipartisan cosponsors of the resolution included Representatives Lincoln Diaz-Balart, Allen Boyd, Corrine Brown, Vern Buchanan, Kathy Castor, Ric Keller, Ron Klein, Connie Mack, Tim Mahoney, Kendrick Meek, John Mica, Adam Putnam, Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Debbie Wasserman Schultz and Robert Wexler.  Florida Senators Bill Nelson and Mel Martinez introduced companion legislation that passed the Senate last December.